Coming From Duolingo

Hi anybody else here from Duolingo I tried learning there but they didn’t have Chinese for english users.

Duolingo has Chinese! I’ve been doing it there for 4-5 months.

I would say this: be careful. The Chinese program is sometimes touted as “Beta,” i.e., not quite ready for prime-time yet, but good enough to solicit reports from early adopters, and sometimes as “Launched,” i.e., due diligence is done, 98% of all language or DataBase or functionality bugs were cleared.

My experience is: there is a lot that still needs to be corrected --all over the place-- in Duolingo Chinese. The approved answers are sometimes very narrow, so you experience a lot of fails; the English translation is sometimes off, meaning, not quite right, and the program will NOT let you progress and close the lesson unless you include the “mistake” in your answer. Same with the Chinese options.

What does that do to your brain: well, now you feel unsteady: am I learning what I should learn, correctly, or am I learning what Duolingo makes me learn? Am I going to be a Duolingo Savant, or am I learning Chinese with the right turns of phrases and syntax etc. The game aspect is seductive alright, but I would take it all with a grain of salt.

IMHO, there are way too many flagged issues that create endless discussions in the discussion boards. That’s not too bad until you find yourself constantly flagging and explaining why you are correcting the English version offered, or, for Heritage learners, the Chinese version.

For me, it’s way too distracting to the learning process. Have fun with it, but tread carefully!

you are right I’m sorry I checked it out, and it varies between incredibly easy and ridiculously hard

1 Like