Why are you learning Chinese?

Wondering why other people are learning Chinese.

In my case I’m learning the language because my partner is Chinese and I want to communicate more with her family.

Just starting out, but it would be great to know about others

1 Like

I have a special attitude and love for languages. It’s a long story.

My native language is Russian. However, I was born in Kazakhstan and was learning Turkic Kazakh and Germanic English in school.

I really enjoyed learning languages so later I entered the Linguistics faculty of the South Ural State University in Chelyabinsk, Russia. My major was English – Old English, Middle English, and lots of theoretical stuff. As my second foreign language I chose German.

However, I graduated from University, I can’t resist the temptation (yes, I’m a nerd), and shifted to the IT area.

But no one can escape their fortune. Several years ago I moved to Montenegro that is a Serbian-speaking country. So I joined the Serbian language classes.

And what I’m working on now? – The application for learning Chinese :grinning: !

2 Likes

It felt like a natural transition after studying Japanese for so many years. Also, spoken Chinese is beautiful.

2 Likes

Did you reach N1 level in Japanese? I feel Japanese is easier at first but gets super tough after N3 level. With Chinese I feel the opposite.

Yes I’ve passed the N1. I don’t feel that the jlpt is a great way of judging actual fluency though.

I live in Taiwan and want to live here forever. I love it so much. I’m quitting my English teaching job to study Chinese, so I can have more career options for living here…

You think spoken Chinese is beautiful after learning Japanese? Lol I love living in Taiwan, but I don’t exactly think Chinese is “beautiful”… then again I don’t think English is beautiful either. I think the only “beautiful” spoken language is Japanese, actually! But to each their own!